NEFEJ concludes its 35th Annual General Meeting

  • Published Date : January 1, 2021

The new working committee unanimously chaired by President Biswakarma

The 35th Annual General Meeting of Nepal Forum of Environmental Journalists has unanimously selected a new 11-member working committee for two years under the chairmanship of Kosmos Biswakarma. NEFEJ had conducted its AGM through a virtual meeting due to the COVID- 19 pandemic.

The general meeting held on 18th December 2020 Friday, elected Chandra Shekhar Karki as Vice President, Nimesh Regmi as General Secretary, Pragati Dhakal as Secretary and Sabin Sharma as Treasurer. Similarly, Shristi Kafle and Sujata Karki have been appointed members from the women’s side while Chhetu Sherpa and Rabin Sayami have been appointed the members from the men’s side. Similarly, Madhu Devi Ghimire has been appointed as the woman expert member and Batukrishna Upreti have been selected as the Expert member from the men’s side. Similarly, Somnath Lamichhane and Ranjana Poudel have been selected in the Accounts Committee under the coordination of Gopal Tiwari.

The forum also presented this year’s Environmental Journalism Award to Yam Bam, a journalist working for The award was presented by the newly elected President Biswakarma. Apart from expert female member Ghimire and female member Shristi Kafle, other representatives and members in the new working committee were also present in the previous working committee.

Similarly, the General Assembly has given honorary membership to Murahari Shivakoti who is also an immediate member of the Forum.

General Secretary Nimesh Regmi, Treasurer Sabin Sharma and Account Committee Coordinator Gopal Tiwari presented the report of the Accounts Committee on the activities carried out in the last one year. Those reports were passed after discussion in a virtual meeting. Similarly, other proposals suggested by the secretariat have also been passed.